Autumn 2

dimate

Topic

Exploring Scandinavia

5

Key Vocabulary



() North

**Climate zone**: sections of the Earth that are aiviaea according to the climate. There are three main climate zones; polar, temperate and tropical.

**Climate change**: climate change occurs when changes in Earth's climate system result in new weather patterns that remain in place for an extended period of time. This length of time can be as short as a few decades to as long as millions of years

**Polar regions**: polar region ats are located in the very north and very south of the globe – the two pole ends of the Earth. The northern polar region is called the Arctic, and in the south the polar region is the continent of Antarctica. Polar habitats have just two seasons – summer and winter.

**Arctic**: the Arctic is a polar region located at the northernmost part of Earth.

Northern Lights: an aurora, sometimes referred to as northern lights, is a natural light display in the Earth's sky seen in the high latitude regions.

**Human Geography**: how human activity affects or is influenced by the earth's surface.

**Physical Geography**: natural characteristics of the earth such as rivers and mountains and processes such as earthquakes

**National Identity**: a person's identity or sense of belonging to one state or to one nation. It is the sense of a nation as a cohesive whole, as represented by distinctive traditions, culture, language

**Polar ice caps**: a polar ice cap or polar cap is a high-latitude region of the earth that is covered in ice

**Global warming**: global warming is the long-term rise in the average temperature of the Earth's climate system.

Endangered species: an endangered species is a species which has been categorized as very likely to become extinct in the near future

**Sustainability**: to maintain at a steady level without exhausting natural resources or causing severe environmental damage

**Trade route**: a route, often covering long distances, that is used by traders

**Northern hemisphere**: the half of the Earth that is north of the Equator

Key Knowledge

Scandinavia is comprised of Norway, Denmark and Sweden. Along with Finland, these countries represent an ancient way of life. Much of Scandinavia sits in the Arctic Circle which makes winters here cold and snowy. During the summer, the sun shines both day and night.

Facts about Scandinavia: Sweden

- Norway, Sweden and Finland all seem wild. They are covered forests and swift rivers.
- Norway and Sweden have many mountains while Finland and Denamrk are low-lying. Denmark is know to have many farms.
- The Norther part of Scandinavia is called Lapland. The Lapland region is inhabited by Sami people. These people have their own language. The five Sami languages spoken in Lapland are North, South, Skolt, Inari and Lule
- The other languages spoken in Scandinavia includes Danish, Swedish and Norwegian

## Key Places



The Countries of Scandinavia	
Country	Capital City
Sweden	Stockholm
Norway	Oslo
Denmark	Copenhagen

