• Search
  • Translate
Home Page

St Matthias

Church of England Primary School

Aspire Believe Achieve

Academy Governance

Welcome to the Governor section of our Website.

Academy Governance

Our Academy has two layers of governance: the members of the Trust, who operate at a strategic level (they are the owners of the company, rather like shareholders) and the governors (who together make up the Governing Body) who have the responsibilities delegated to them by the Academy Trust. The constitution of an academy is set out in its Articles of Association which are agreed with the secretary of state.


The Governing Body is composed of up to 18 representatives from the Church, local community, school and parents. As a critical friend, the Governing Body offers support, constructive advice, a sounding board for ideas, a second opinion on proposals and help where needed. Governors are responsible for establishing the aims and policies of the school, setting and implementing the school budget, and ensuring that the curriculum is taught. They set targets for the school and ensure the implementation of these targets. They visit the school regularly and act as a link between parents, the Church, and the school.


All governors welcome feedback and suggestions from Parents, Carers and other stakeholders. Any correspondence received will be promptly dealt with at the next Governing Body meeting and the outcome reported back to respective parents.


St Matthias Church of England Primary School is committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children, young people and vulnerable adults. We expect all staff, Governors and volunteers to share in this commitment. As such, we insist all Governors have a satisfactory DBS Enhanced Disclosure.


All Governors can be contacted by letter via the school office.



Term of Office

Governor Role / Committee


Rev. Phillip Johnson

(Incumbent WDAT)



Mrs Carol Nash




Mrs Helen Yorke

(PPC )



Chair 27.9.17



Mrs Deb Cook

(WDAT Corporate Member)



Foundation Governors 4 x PCC  5x WDAT 

Rev Phillip Johnson

Ex- officio WDAT



 GB Chair

Mrs Alison Sims


5.12.16 - 4.12.20

Safer Recruitment Trained

Pay Committee 

Mrs Carol Nash


5.12.16.- 4.12.20

Pay Committee

Mr Tony Matthews


.7.18 - .7.22


 Mrs Katie Fisher


19.9.18 - 18.9.22  

Parent Governors                                 3x Parent Governors

Mrs Clare Bookham

5.9.16 –4.9.20


Ms Laura Palmer

14.11.18 - 13.11.22


Ms Siani Driver

14.11.18 - 13.11.22


Staff Governors    3x Staff Governors

Mrs Fiona Cullerne

Ex-officio principal


Safer Recruitment Trained


Co-Opted Governors                       2x Co-Opted Governors

Mr Pat Lewis

31.1.18 - 30.1.22

GB Vice

Pay Committee Chair


A full Governor Database with attendance information can be found by clicking on the following links.

Committees and Working Groups


The Governing Body has two established committees to keep under review key aspects of the school's performance. Each has a minimum of 3 Governors and their terms of reference are reviewed annually. 


Main Committees

1. Resource and Audit Committee

2. Pay Committee

Please click on the link below to access the Scheme of Delegation for the academic year 2016-2017 as agreed by Governors in the Full Governing Body meeting on 12.10.16.

Governors declare the following Interests:

Mr Phillip Johnson

Governor at Northleigh Primary School


Mrs Helen Yorke

School Lead for Partnerships and External Engagement, School of Education and Work, Birmingham City University.

Chair of Local Advisory Board, City Road Primary Academy, Birmingham.


Mr Pat Lewis

Partner is School Secretary


Mrs Katie Fisher

Chaplain/teacher at Dyson Perrins Cof E Academy







4 0 3 7 2 Visitors
Our Value for this half term is Respect.